
COUNTY OF HANOVER, VIRGINIA 
APPLICATION FOR CONTRACTOR’S LICENSE 
TAX YEAR 2016 
Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue 
PO Box 129, Hanover, VA 23069 
Tel: (804) 365-6129 Fax: (804) 365-6101 

                     Email: commissioner@hanovercounty.gov 
    

 

FILE BY MARCH 1 - Instructions & Fee Schedule on back of form 
 

Account# 
 

SSN Or Federal ID Number Fax # Business Phone# 

Owner’s Name 
 

                        
 

Locality In Which Business Is Located 

 

Trade Name 
 

Physical Address Of Business 
 

Mailing Address 
 

Contact Person 
 

City/ State / Zip 
 

Virginia State Registration Number 

 
 
Please Note: 

• If you are not State Registered as a Class A, B, or C Contractor, you must sign an affidavit stating that you are not 
subject to licensure or certification as a contractor or subcontractor pursuant to Virginia State Code §54.1-1111. 

• In order to process your license, a Worker’s Compensation form must be completed and your payment made 
payable to County of Hanover must be included.  This is not necessary if gross receipts are under $100,000.00. 

• If you are a Hanover based contractor who had gross receipts in other localities, please complete the worksheet 
on the reverse side of this form and list the total amount below on Line V: Other Localities (from reverse side). 

 

  

Type of Contractor  
 

Amount of Gross Receipts  
(Col A.) 

 
Tax Rate 
(Col B.)  

 
= Total 

( Col A. x Col. B ) 

I General Contractor  X .001 
 
 

II Electrical Contractor  X .001 
 
 

III Plumber / Steam Fitter  X .001 
 
 

IV Other:  X .001 
 
 

V Other Localities (from reverse side)  X .001 
 

VI Total (add lines I-V)  X .001 
 

VII Penalty:  If filed after March 1, 10% of line VI ………………………………………………… 
 

VIII Interest:  If filed after March 1……………………………………………………………………. 
 

VIIII GRAND TOTAL add lines VI - VIII................…………………..…………………………….…..  
 

 
I hereby declare that the statements and figures herein given are true, full and correct to the best of my 
knowledge and belief. 
 
Signature of Applicant:         Date:        
 
Name of Applicant:         
 
Title:           Daytime Phone:      
 
Email:            

T. Scott Harris, MCR 
Commissioner 



INSTRUCTIONS & COST SCHEDULES 
 
Pursuant to Virginia State Code §58.1-2700 et seq, every contractor, electrical contractor, plumber or steam fitter shall 
obtain a license for each business.  If the gross receipts of the business exceed $100,000, there shall be a license tax in 
the amount of ten cents ($.10) per one hundred dollars ($100.00) of gross receipts of the business for the prior 
year.  The License tax is assessable, due, and payable by March 1 of each license year.  If a license application is not 
filed and the tax is not paid within the time provided, the amount due shall be subject to interest at ten percent per annum 
commencing on the first day following the day such tax is due as well as a 10% late filing penalty. 
 
Licenses will be based on GROSS RECEIPTS that were earned by the business in 2015.  The calculation of gross 
receipts for license tax purposes shall be on either the cash or accrual method provided that the method used coincides 
with the method of accounting used for federal and state income tax purposes.   
 
WHO HAS TO FILE AN APPLICATION AND / OR PAY A FEE? 
 

 
IF YOU ARE A HANOVER BASED CONTRACTOR AND … 

FILE A 
RETURN? 

PAY THE 
LICENSE TAX? 

YES NO YES NO 
…  have gross receipts less than $100,000.00 √   √ 

…  have gross receipts greater than $100,000.00 √  √  
 

 
 
IF YOU ARE BASED & LICENSED IN ANOTHER COUNTY AND MEET THE 
REQUIREMENTS OF §6-40 OF THE HANOVER COUNTY CODE AND… 

FILE A 
RETURN? 

PAY THE 
LICENSE TAX? 

YES NO YES NO 

…  have gross receipts less than $25,000.00  √  √ 

…  have gross receipts greater than $25,000.00 but less than $100,000.00 √   √ 

…  have gross receipts greater than $100,000.00 √  √  
 

 
Example: Gross Receipts of $100,001.00 

 
Gross Receipts divided by 100 ...........…….….$100,001.00 divided by 100 = $1,000.01 
Multiply by the tax of $.10 .....................….……............….$1,000.01 X $.10 = $100.00 
License Cost...........................................……............................………........ = $100.00 

 
OR 

 
Multiply by the tax rate of .001 ...........…………………..$100,001.00 x .001 = $100.00 
License Cost ..........................................….......................….....………........ = $100.00 

 
  
OTHER LOCALITY WORKSHEET FOR HANOVER CONTRACTORS 
 

Locality of Gross Receipts Amount of Gross Receipts 
Was a fee paid to obtain a license in 

another locality? 
 

Yes 
 

No 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Grand Total (for localities a 
licensed was not obtained) 

 
 

To Page1, Col. A, Line V 

 
If you require additional information concerning this application, please contact the office of T. Scott Harris, 

Commissioner of the Revenue at 804-365-6129 or by email to commissioner@hanovercounty.gov. 
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